Spock's Beard at HRH Prog XII festival - March 17-20, 2022

04 April 2021

Spock’s Beard to perform at the HRH Prog XII festival in Great Yarmouth, UK

Spock’s Beard is proud to announce we will be back to perform in the UK in 2022!

We will be sharing a headlining bill with bands such as Tangerine Dream and Pendragon at the HRH Prog XII festival in Great Yarmouth on the east coast of England.

The festival will take place between March 17th and 20th of 2022. Head over to their website for more information. Hope to see you there!

Fusion Online Christmas Cracker Live Stream... and support me on Patreon!

25 November 2020

Last month, I recorded two exclusive live performances from my home in L.A. for the upcoming Online Christmas Cracker event for the Fusion Music Festival in the UK! This is a charity event with donations going to MIND and The Samaritans.

The live stream will start airing on YouTube at 7pm UK time on Saturday, November 28.

My performances will be two Spock’s Beard favorites, Kamikaze and an acoustic version of Distance to the Sun - featuring a special guest! You do not want to miss it.


Speaking of which, if you’d like to watch these performances RIGHT NOW, you can now sign up to become a supporter on my new Patreon - for just $5!

Patreon for Ryo Okumoto

I will be posting behind-the-scenes updates and exclusive footage on Patreon from now on, and your contributions will go directly towards helping me make more music.

  • Starting at $5/month, you will get these exclusive behind-the-scenes updates, advance releases of new videos and music, and so on!
  • For $10/month you’ll also get access to intimate, exclusive streams just for my patrons!
  • And for just $20/month you can even become an official VIP producer and get credited in the next videos and music releases. Because you’re actually helping me produce all of this!

More importantly, your continued patronage will allow me to do more of what I love: making great music! Your contributions will go directly towards costs such as paying other musicians, venues, sound engineers, studio staff and fees, and so on.

In a very real sense, you are helping sustain my little corner of the music industry, and for that I will be eternally grateful. You rock!!

Become a Patron!

The Ryo Okumoto Project Plays Moogvember! - Nov 14, 2020

29 October 2020

The Ryo Okumoto Project performs on November 14, 2020 at 6pm PST / 9pm EST

The ProgStock Presents Virtual Series is proud to announce an upcoming series of concerts and events, Moogvember, which will benefit the Bob Moog Foundation. Spanning all four Saturdays in November, Moogvember will feature acclaimed artists Adam Holzman, Larry Fast (with Erik Norlander), The Ryo Okumoto Project, Jordan Rudess, and Tom Brislin. Shows begin at 4pm and end at 10pm, ranging between $4-$10. Each concert requires a separate ticket.

A portion of the proceeds from each Moogvember show will be donated to the Bob Moog Foundation to benefit their educational and archive preservation efforts, including the new Moogseum, which was closed for five months due to the pandemic.

Tickets for the live TROP Performance cost $10 and can be purchased here.

Tickets for all other performances can be purchased at StageIt.com/ProgStock

Attendees are encouraged to create a StageIt account and purchase tickets prior to the event. More details are available on the Moog Foundation anouncement.

Joining Ryo for this special Moogvember performance will be:

  • Matt Dorsey (Sound Of Contact, Dave Kerzner, In Continuum) on bass, guitar and lead vocals
  • Jonathan Mover (Steve Hackett, GTR, Joe Satriani) on drums
  • Erik Madsen (Jamie Foxx, Trueschool All Stars) on guitar
  • Keiko Okumoto on lead vocals

The show will be live-streamed from Champion Site+Sound in Los Angeles, a professional studio facility owned by Jonathan Mover. The experience will be as close as possible to a real live show, with a fully staffed light, audio and multi-camera setup in a real studio.

The live set will feature covers of songs from marquee artists including King Crimson, Jethro Tull, Genesis, UK and Spock’s Beard.

Performed in real time and live once only! You do not want to miss this!

Live in Tokyo DVD Now Available To Order!

Live in Tokyo DVD Now Available To Order!

28 July 2020

Back in 2004, I released the “Live in Tokyo, Japan” DVD with footage from the Coming Through tour in Japan, as well as from the studio sessions for the album.

This DVD has been out of print for years, but is now available to purchase again directly from my merch store and on Amazon!

If your order now from my store and use promo code RYODVD, you will also get $5 off your order!

Note that because of the current COVID-19 crisis, our provider is currently only able to ship DVDs to US addresses. You may still order a copy fulfilled by Amazon as an alternative.

If you’d rather have an audio or video download, those are also available on my store as well as on Bandcamp.

Here’s your chance to own another piece of live Ryo history!

The live band from this tour was:

  • Ryo Okumoto: Keyboards
  • Takashi Masuzaki: Guitar
  • Kiyoshi Murakami: Bass
  • Hiroyuki Noritake: Drums

Edited by Stan Ausmus and Frank Mundo. Engineered by Rich Mouser, Ryo Okumoto, Simon Phillips and Takeshi Shimomiya.

TROP “ProgFusion Live” Streaming at Umeda Always in Osaka, Japan - 6/26/2020

13 June 2020

Friday, June 26, 2020

  • 7:30 p.m. Japan
  • 8:30 p.m. Sydney
  • 11:30 a.m. London
  • 12:30 p.m. Germany
  • 3:30 a.m. Los Angeles
  • 6:30 a.m. New York


  • Keyboards: Ryo Okumoto
  • Guitar: Timothy Reid
  • Bass: Katsuji Morioka
  • Drums: Yu Murakami

The Ryo Okumoto Project returns to Umeda Always in Osaka, Japan for this special live-streamed performance!

On the heels of his recent over-the-top performance in this same club, and the acclaimed “Prog From Home” performance, the Spock’s Beard keyboardist and his exciting new band will play a selection of songs from his solo albums, as well as some Spock’s Beard favorites.

Watch the June 9 performance below!

This event is being live-streamed in HD on YouTube and Facebook, with a new extensive 8-camera setup, and will also have a very limited audience on site.

Ryo will again be performing on the legendary Yamaha C7 grand piano, along with his full keyboard rig of classic synths, the mighty drawbar organ and Leslie, and an assortment of modern plug-ins, mad scientist style.

Ryo is one of the most animated, entertaining musicians in the genre, and the band is comprised of the best musicians Japan has to offer.

It will be a night of too many notes, and way too much fun!

See you there!

Subscribe To My Newsletter

* indicates required
Email Format

View previous e-mails.